For logistics and administrative questions, please email cs61c(at) Append to all emails.


Prof. Dan Garcia

ddgarcia@cs •

Office Hours: TBD

Where did you grow up? What was your path to Cal?

I grew up in The Bronx, NY (“You got a problem with dat?” – that’s how they talked in my old neighborhood, no joke) until I was 9. The Bronx is one of the 5 Boroughs of New York City, if you didn’t know. I moved to Westchester (suburb of New York) for a year and then upstate to a small town near Cooperstown, NY (where the Baseball Hall of Fame is located). I graduated from Cooperstown Central High, went on to MIT where I got a double major in CS and EE and graduated in 5 years. Then I came to Cal as a grad student, did a MS in Game Theory in 1995 and a PhD in Graphics in 2000, got bitten by the teaching bug and joined the faculty (in the teaching track) in 2000.

How much programming have you done (& what languages)?

I started with Basic in high school in 1985. At MIT I learned Scheme (in the class CS61A was modeled after, taught by the authors of SICP) and C. When I got to Berkeley, I learned Tcl/Tk, Java, Python, Unix, Matlab, Mathematica, html & perl. My current favorite language is Python, definitely.

What are your hobbies

With two little ones, I no longer have time for hobbies. Their hobbies are my hobbies, i.e., going to parks, playgrounds, museums, and biking around. I’ve gotten more into photography and videography, because that’s something I can do with them.

However, before I had kids my hobbies were: puzzles, games, golf, basketball, ultimate, animation, juggling, programming, classic comedy sketches, movies, genealogy, and sharing jokes.

What are some of your talents and skills?

I can juggle 5 balls, ride a unicycle (poorly), spin things on my finger, play the harmonica and congas badly (partly because I can’t read music), recite entire Monty Python sketches, hit a golf ball 275 yds (though I have yet to break 90!), do an L hang, and wiggle my ears.

Have you done anything remarkable? Has anything memorable happened to you?

In high school, I tied the school record in the 200m dash (23.2 s) and I was the fastest rapid calculator in central NY (~100 high schools). My high school basketball team went to the state final four game, and our team was recently inducted to our high school athletic hall of fame! In 2012 I was chosen as an ACM Distinguished Educator. In 2007 I lived in Melbourne (Australia) for 5 months, and I also climbed half-dome a decade ago. I’ve seen a bit of the world (Australia, New Zealand, China, Mexico, Canada, Venezuela, Brazil, Qatar, Greece, Spain) but have lots of travel ahead of me.

What commitments will be consuming your cycles this semester?

In addition to this class, I’m also teaching CS10 and CNM190 (Advanced Digital Animation) a year-long course that teaches students how to make Pixar-quality short films. I supervise three awesome DeCals: GamesCrafters, UCBUGG and iOS Programming. I’m on the undergraduate study and chairing the awards committee, and I do EECS and L&S faculty advising. I’m on more advisory boards than I can count, and I’m the local faculty champion for our CSTA chapter. I have three awesome grad students. I’ve got a 2-hour commute each way (1 hr on BART and time to drop-off or pick-up my little ones from school). Finally, and most importantly, I’ve got a wonderful wife, and a son and daughter with whom I try to spend as much time as possible. Phew!

Prof. Borivoje Nikolic

bora@eecs •

Office Hours: TBD

Head TAs

Stephan Kaminsky

skaminsky115@ •

Office Hours: TBD

Hi! I majored in EECS and just graduated and am doing a 5th year masters. This will be my seventh semester teaching 61C. In my spare time, I like to ride motorcycles, go to movies with friends, and eat avocado toast at acme bread company. Lets have fun this semester :)

Connor (Cece) McMahon


Office Hours: TBD

Hey everyone! I’m a first year CS Master’s student, and I just graduated from Georgia Tech with my Bachelor’s in Computer Engineering. I love teaching, and I am super excited to GSI 61C this Fall! I am currently living in Atlanta with my amazing dog, Belle. I can’t wait to make it to California one day!


Jonathan Shi

jhshi@ •

Office Hours: TBD

4th year eecs undergrad from the bay area, previously TA for cs162 over the summer. i like programming languages and systems. also i play saxophone.

i have no idea what’s on my personal website because i’m too lazy to figure out how nginx works

computers are cool. but also, sometimes, they suck. that’s just life sometimes.

Nikhil Pimpalkhare


Office Hours: TBD

Hello! My name is Nikhil and I’m a current senior. In my free time, I enjoy fetching blocks from main memory, dereferencing pointers, and professing my love to XOR gates.

Sunay Poole


Office Hours: TBD

Hey everyone, I’m a third year CS and Engineering Physics major from the Los Angeles area. I like running (find me on Strava!) and most outdoor activities, though I don’t have much time these days. I’m really excited to meet all of you virtually!

Daniel Fan


Office Hours: TBD


Cynthia Zhong


Office Hours: TBD

Hi! I’m a 3rd year majoring in linguistics and computer science. In my free time, I love to play (video game music on) the piano, do translations, and practice to write with my left hand. Really excited to meet y’all this fall!!

Kevin Laeufer


Office Hours: TBD

I am a graduate student working at the intersection of computer architecture, programming languages and formal verification at the Adept lab. In college I was programming microcontrollers and building robots.

Caroline Liu

carolinexwliu89@ •

Office Hours: TBD

Hey y’all! I’m Caroline, a rising junior studying EECS and Neurobiology! I love running, reading, writing, crafting, and taking catnaps whilst lucid dreaming. I also am super excited to teach 61C again–yay for segfaults galore!

Now, we play two truths and a lie!

  1. I was born in Vienna, Austria.
  2. I used to practice Wicca as a Baptist Christian.
  3. I am a contortionist.

Find me in discussion or OHs and tell me your answer and chat about anything interesting! :)

Jie Qiu


Office Hours: TBD

Hi! I’m Jie, a third year (senior ;-;) CS major, and this is my fourth time being a TA for CS61C! Outside of 61C, I love sleeping, going to church, exploring new food places, playing the piano, and hiking up the big C to watch sunsets. CS61C is absolutely my favorite class that I have ever taken at Berkeley and I’m looking forward to getting to know you all!

Kimberly Zhu


Office Hours: TBD

Third year EECS major from the Bay Area. I enjoy movies and trying out new foods!

Max Banister


Office Hours: TBD

What up, i’m Max, i’m 19, and I never learned how to read

Anson Tsai


Office Hours: TBD

Hi! My name is Anson and I am a 5th year MS student doing EECS stuff. In my free time, I like to allocate space to watch movies, snack on snacks, and browse all the memes. Feel free to reach out whenever!

Taejong Kim


Office Hours: TBD

This is my second time TAing for CS61C; in my free time I enjoy taking nighttime walks, reading, and the occasional video game.

Jerry Xu

jerryxu@ •

Office Hours: TBD

I’ve got 99 problems, but 80 are cached by k8s-web-4 =.=

Alice Lyu


Office Hours: TBD

See y’all soon… over zoom lol.

Justin Yokota


Office Hours: TBD

Hi! I’m Justin, a fourth-year studying Math and Computer Science.

Seah Kim

kimsea8209@ •

Office Hours: TBD

Hi! I’m a 2nd year Ph.D. student in the ADEPT lab advised by Sophia Shao and Borivoje Nikolic. I previously graduated from Seoul National University with a bachelor’s degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering. My research interests are in accelerator design, computer architecture, and VLSI.

Ryan Thornton

rpthornton@ •

Office Hours: TBD

Hi, I’m Ryan! I was born and raised in Illinois, and now I’m a senior at Cal studying computer science. I love computer architecture, and I’m psyched to teach this course for the fourth time. In my free time, I love hiking, climbing, and playing trumpet.

Emily Wang


Office Hours: TBD

hi !!!!!!

Ryan Lund


Office Hours: TBD

Hey everyone! I’m a 5th Year Master’s student studying computer architecture and digital design. C61C was my gateway into the field so I’m looking forward to sharing my passion for it with you!

Ivy Li •

Office Hours: TBD

come to discussion, i promise that i won’t bite

Robin Chu


Office Hours: TBD

Hi! I am a 3rd year EECS major from San Diego. In my free time, I like to paint, dance, and cook. I’m really excited to get to know all of you!

Luke Mujica


Office Hours: TBD

Hi! I’m looking forward to seeing you all and making this semester as interesting and helpful as possible. Outside of teaching I enjoy staying active with a variety of sports and activities and I also enjoy playing some guitar.

Avinash (Avi) Nandakumar

avinashnandakumar@ •

Office Hours: TBD

Hello everyone, I’m a 4th year EECS major from southern California near Santa Barbara! This is my fourth semester teaching 61c, and could not be more excited! I am super social, love to be outdoors, and a huge sports fan. Come to my section and talk to me about anything!!

Lu Yang


Office Hours: TBD

Hello! My name is Lu and I’m a Computer Science and Chemistry double major. This is my fourth and perhaps the last time teaching 61C as I’m graduating this semester, and I’m so excited to spend it with you guys albeit the circumstances. I love to sing, cook, and learn to do random stuffs in my free time. Feel free to email me if you experienced any difficulties or just wanted to chat. Stay safe and best of luck!

Ryan Searcy


Office Hours: TBD

I’m a 4th year EECS student, I love to dance (and have directed multiple AFX teams), and this is my 5th semester TAing 61c!

Dayeol Lee

dayeol@ •

Office Hours: TBD

Hello everyone! I hope you all enjoy CS61C :-)

Anthony Ling

ant1ng@ •

Office Hours: TBD

Hello friends, welcome to 61C! We hope you have a pleasant time.